Regional Medical Center Board

As a non-profit, community-owned hospital, Regional Medical Center is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, each of whom donate countless hours of their time and service to guide the facility. Initially named Anniston Memorial Hospital, RMC now has over 185 physicians and 1,400 staff members providing the most comprehensive health care services of any hospital in this part of the state.  RMC’s Board of Directors is appointed by the Anniston City Council, the Jacksonville City Council, the Oxford City Council and the Calhoun County Commission. RMC’s Board of Directors provides expertise in a variety of fields.  RMC’s Chief of Staff and Vice Chief of Staff are appointed by the hospital’s Medical Staff. The Board of Directors makes decisions based on the needs of the community.

Seven (7) members are appointed by the Anniston City Council. The governing bodies of Calhoun County, the City of Oxford, and the City of Jacksonville appoint two (2) members each. This Board meets on the fourth Monday of each month.

Board Positions Nominations Name Exp. Date
1 Ward 1 Brian L. Johnson 5/31/2019
2 Ward 2 Dr. George Crawford  5/31/2019
3 Ward 3 Jimmie Thompson 5/31/2018
4 Ward 4 Paula Watkins 5/31/2018
5 Mayor Ellen Bass 5/31/2016
6 Mayor Fred Wilson 5/31/2017
7 Mayor Bud Owsley 5/31/2020